Getting over the Post-Holiday-Blues

I had a great holiday vacation. We spent about 2 weeks in my hometown Iloilo and bonded with my family. It was also wonderful not to think about work for 2 straight weeks and just focused on having fun and relaxing. We were even able to go to a marine island reserve that was just SO pure and wonderful!

But all good things must come to an end. I had to go back to work, the same day I got back to Manila. Back to the 9pm t 6am night shift. UGH, it was just depressing. I mean, don’t get me wrong I love my job but it was just so difficult trying to focus on work after all the hulaballoo this Christmas, New Year’s, Bede bday, and my parent’s 40th anniv.

However, since I believe in EIT,  Everything on the Internet is True, I googled my symptoms and voila! It turned out that I have the Post Holiday Blues. Pffftt!!!

Symptoms:

  1. Depression
  2. Tiredness
  3. Sleepy
  4. Headaches
  5. Diminished Ability to Think or Concentrate <– I like this one
  6. more here

In a nutshell, the Blues are brought on by the eventual disappearance of holiday cheer, and as the new year starts, the sudden realization that there’s nothing to look forward to anymore. For the Blue, the year looks like an endless desert road that would stretch on and on and onnn for another 365 days. Phew!

What to do:

  1. Set realistic goals for yourself! Enough of the cliche New Year’s resolutions that we know we rarely keep. Run that 5K, take that class, read those books! Don’t just list them down, just go out of the door and do em.
  2. Motivate yourself again at work. Rediscover your passion for what you do! I subscribe regularly to Elearning blogs by people that have just fantastic ideas and it’s easy to be inspired by them.
  3. De-clutter? Get rid of all your 2009 junk! Unload all your accumulated emotional baggage too!

I’m glad the blues are finally fading away. My boss just gave me a ton to do and work has started to restart my brain. We’ve also started running again (this Sun is going to be paaaiiinfuuull).  It was great to unwind but it’s also great to be BACK!

And so we're back! From outer space!

Leave a Reply

