Getting off the couch (again) and hoping to run that 5k in a few months

So Mr B and I decided to redirect our badminton budget on a gym membership where we can actually do exercise (less fun than badminton) at the weird hours we are ready to work out, like 6-9am or 7-8pm.

I decided to re-do the Couch to 5K program, which literally takes couch potatoes like me from zero physical activity to running a 5k in 9 weeks. The first time I did the program I was in the US and though I was able to complete the whole 9 weeks, I was SO disappointed in my first super slow 5k race which I finished in (I’m so embarassed) 46 minutes and 49 seconds.

This time I am SO motivated to do better, armed with my iPod Touch and my ever loving BSS (Bede Support System). My goal this time is to shave off the 6 minutes 49 seconds, and go for a 40 minute 5K. On the treadmill that should be around 7.5kph for 40 minutes? Hmnn have to bookmark this blog entry so I won’t forget my target goal, I don’t want to sissy out of the whole thing mid-way. In the words of Boys over Flower’s Geum Jan Di: Aja aja! Fighting!

Oh! And I also have another secret weapon. My super beloved cute and loving father bought me a Nike + sensor (*toot toot*). Anyway, the sensor is designed to work with my new iPod Touch and should help me track my kilometers.

I’m supposed to use it with Nike + shoes but since I already have my Asics, I’ll just find a way to get this cute little pouch. Any body willing to sponsor me?

Anyway, I decided to log this new goal in my blog so I would have some kind of commitment to the whole thing. Will post my updates here regularly. Wish me luuck!

3 thoughts on “Getting off the couch (again) and hoping to run that 5k in a few months

  1. annabelts says:

    Huwow! Parang I want too! Dodge and I have been planning to run again, masilip nga ang schedule.

    I’m so proud of you Genai! Keep it up ha! Bawal bumalik sa couch! hehehe

Leave a Reply

