Getting ready for the beach – Boracay on a budget

Sky Boat

I’m super excited for our Boracay trip three weeks from now. It’s only a short vaca, 3 days 2 nights, but it’s been a while since I’ve been on the island. Growing up in Iloilo where Bora is only a few hours away, we’ve been visiting the island since 1986, during its pre-commercial, pre-hyped days. Eventually, the trips lost its excitement and we only go there when there are weddings, sightseeing relatives from abroad, and other family events.

It’s different now though because it’s Bede’s first trip to Bora (yehey!) and we’re bringing along two of my bestest friends so I just have a good good feeling about this trip. On to my shopping list:

  1. Snorkel gear – On a limited budget this one’s kind of a luxury item. I had a Speedo set but it’s probably back home in Iloilo so it’s too late and expensive to have it sent to me. Can’t decide between Speedo, Mares, or Dorfin but it’s sure going to set you back at least 1.5kPHP (30USD). We’re both water babies so I think it’s a must have for a nice snorkeling trip (boting ma’am boting?). Flippers are very optional unless you decide to explore on your own. I’d highly recommend the boat trip though, they’ll take you to the best snorkelling spots, 500 m from the shore. “Boting” will cost around 600/person? I’m not sure now, it used to be super cheap like 600 for the whole BOAT especially if you’re a local, but they must have hiked the price up since there are loads of tourists now.
  2. Swimsuit and board shorts – I’m thinking Arena swimsuits because they’re just as good looking as the Speedo ones, and of course cheaper! I saw a couple at an outlet-type store for only 600 petot. I only hope there are some good ones left. Board shorts also don’t have to be expensive. I’m sure there are pretty good “roxy” and “billabong” shorts out there. 🙂 Check out Greenhills, Cash n Carry, or Market Market.
  3. Slippers, Flip-flops, tsinelas – or ‘smagol’ as we witty Ilonggos call them. Geez I used to scoff at the gullible people buying 900 petot slippers, where you can buy equally functional, yet much less stylish Dragon tsinelas at 30 petot. Well, heck it’s only 900 petot and it’s cute, and I wear it to work yes, and I love my smagol. Havainas are on sale this week! Most designs are 20% off. Hmnnn lovely flowery and slim.
  4. Shades – Except for Oakleys I don’t think it’s smart to buy shades at more than 3,000 pesos. Though I only bought mine for saaale at $69, loove Cabazon. Woot woot! Anyway, for a much cheaper alternative but very stylish, I’m thinking of getting a pair at Bench. Ohh I like Bench shirts and stufff. 🙂

After our trip I’ll post more tips on how to have a great Bora vacation without burning up your wallet. Haha, I hope I’ll be able to follow most of it though.

Note: the best way to save? Get a good deal on your airfare. We got ours from Cebu Pacific, they have discounted fares if you don’t check-in any luggage (good luck with that hehe). And for hotels, get one that’s not on the beachfront, a short walk doesn’t really hurt if you get to shave off some of your vaca expenses. For food especially if you have the time and patience, buy fresh at the Boracay market and have it cooked for a nominal fee. Our favorite is fresh chili crab by a filipino-japanese couple who owns a booth right on the market.

XOXO

3 thoughts on “Getting ready for the beach – Boracay on a budget

  1. I almost never leave a response, but i did a few searching and wound up here Getting ready for the beach
    – Boracay on a budget | Spider Pig in Disguise.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it only me or does it look as if like a few of the responses look as
    if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you
    are writing on additional online sites, I would like to keep up with everything fresh
    you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete
    urls of your communal pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

  2. Oh yah I saw the Reef sandals for sale at super low prices but I didn’t like any of the designs. Ay maarte? Haha..

    I aam thinking about Ipanema for my next pair, though they are rumored to be not as durable as Havaianas. Don’t know if it’s true. I almost nicked a Giselle Bunshen pair on the beach at Puerto, iniwanan lang ng owner when she went swimming. Hehe. Eviil!

Leave a Reply

