The Pinay Commute

mrt1.jpg

** Image taken from www.daddywasabi.blogspot.com/

Lately I’ve been a regular commuter on the MRT, and I have to say I’m enjoying it. Of course the term ‘enjoy’ is subject to several factors:

  1. avoiding the rush hours of 7-9AM and 5-7PM.
  2. sitting up front on the ladies/senior citizens only cab
  3. If I could time it right, be the first on the line at the door
  4. getting to sit down for the 30 minute ride

Now, since I’m ALWAYS on the women/old people only cab, I’ve made a LOT of interesting observations about the Pinay commuter:

  1. she always wears tsinelas on her way home from work
  2. she always carries a paper bag (probably containing her high heels)
  3. she texts on her cellphone half the time on the train
  4. maybe because of the pollution but most of the women don’t have good skin 😦
  5. chivalry is still alive! well in a sense, because pinays still give up their seat for old people and pregnant women
  6. a lot of iPod/mp3 player users (mine is a beat-up old 1GB Sansa)

Anyhoo, hurray for the Pinay commuter. She puts up with a lot of everyday stress from work to home, and everything in between. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “The Pinay Commute

  1. Hi Apples thanks for dropping by. πŸ™‚ I’ll add you to my blogroll rightawayo.. πŸ™‚

    Calvs, get TIA pregnant. That way she’ll be your easy ticket to the first cab. πŸ™‚ Wahahaha..

  2. Hwee hweee… the MRT misses you too ley!!! And I miss you moooorrree!!! πŸ™‚

    Yeah the banner is kinda cute isn’t it? Supah thanks to Bede for making it for me. He’s my Spider Bear. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

